I just can’t get enough…

2 May

of my new book: The Gift, poems by Hafiz the great Sufi master, translations by Daniel Ladinsky. Suzanna had this book available at Teacher Training today and I got so absorbed in it that I almost dropped everything in my very busy day to curl up in a corner and read. On the way home tonight, my car drove itself to Barnes and Noble where I was forced beyond my control to shell out $16.00 that I didn’t have to buy my own copy. Now if only I could go to bed instead of mooning over Hafiz.

HAFIZ

It

Is all

Just a love contest

And I never

Lose.

Now you have another good reason

To spend more time

With

Me.

THIS SKY

This

Sky

Where we live

Is no place to lose your wings

So love, love,

Love.

BERSERK

Once

In a while

God cuts loose His purse strings,

Gives a big wink to my orchestra,

Hafiz

Does not require

Any more prompting than that

To let

Every instrument inside

Go

Berserk

My favorite:

IT WILL STRETCH OUT ITS LEG

All the classes you have sat in,

All the money you have paid

For “truth”,

Something must be wrong, though,

If your eye still wanders through the streets

Acting like a beggar.

Why not try this:

Let all the fake teachers starve.

Picture one of the great masters

In your mind,

Put your lips against his cheek

Each morning.

Say, keep saying,

“Dear Beloved, pinch me.

I want proof You’re near –

A love-bruise on my rump will do.”

The Friend is an unfathomable well

That knows everything;

Draw from that safe luminous sky.

Stay near this book,

It will stretch out its leg and

Trip you;

You’ll fall

Into

God.

3 Responses to “I just can’t get enough…”

  1. Maya May 24, 2010 at 8:42 am #

    I absolutely LOVE Hafiz. When I read this insight, this esoteric exploration, not only do I feel inspired, but I fall in love with Life again, every time, every part of it. The rythem, the breath, the heartbeats…the pulse. That is truly magical and soulful. A read that leads to and from the Divine. Whats not to fall in love with? More quotes please. :)

  2. ECS May 26, 2010 at 6:49 am #

    My favorite:

    Forget every idea of right and wrong
    Any classroom ever taught you

    Because
    An empty heart, a tormented mind,
    Unkindness, jealousy and fear

    Are always the testimony
    You have been completely fooled!

    Turn your back on those
    Who would imprison your wondrous spirit
    With deceit and lies.

    Come, join the honest company
    Of the King’s beggars –
    Those gamblers, scoundrels and divine clowns
    And those astonishing fair courtesans
    Who need Divine Love every night.

    Come, join the courageous
    Who have no choice
    But to bet their entire world
    That indeed,
    Indeed, God is Real.

    I will lead you into the Circle
    Of the Beloved’s cunning thieves,
    Those playful royal rogues –
    The ones you can trust for true guidance –
    Who can aid you
    In this Blessed Calamity of life.
    Hafiz,
    Look at the Perfect One
    At the Circle’s Center:

    He Spins and Whirls like a Golden Compass,
    Beyond all that is Rational,

    To show this dear world

    That Everything,
    Everything in Existence
    Does point to God

  3. barefootbhakti May 26, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    Beautiful. I love how he talks about chaos and spinning and whirling and being rational all pointing to God.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

