Who’s that yogini?

6 Aug

Sometimes I swear that there are two of me. There’s one awkward, pain-ridden and lazy yogini who practices in the morning, and a different girl who’s ready to kick-ass in the evening. No matter what, I just can’t make peace with my dislike for morning practice. I just thought that complaining a bit would help me feel better!

The truth is, these 108 days are really changing me. I’m learning to train my mind during home practice and sit through the pain of tight joints. I have much more empathy for my beginning students now and I’m personally gaining a huge amount of will and patience. More than all of that though, is a bigger transformation. I find myself less distracted by the “to-do” list and more fascinated by the symbolic yoga world around me.

How are your 30 days going?

3 Responses to “Who’s that yogini?”

  1. Kai August 6, 2007 at 12:13 pm #

    I can definitely relate to this. I’m not naturally drawn to a morning practice and find that afternoon/evening practices feel more natural and easy for my body. This summer, I’ve also encountered an additional challenge – I’m experiencing joint pain as the side effect of a medical treatment. I’m reminded on a daily basis of the challenges my level I students face in terms of pain and stiffness, particularly my older students. It’s been a wonderful lesson for me as a teacher to practice with this pain.

  2. Lisa Gray August 6, 2007 at 8:26 pm #

    I agree. I so much more love yoga in the evening. However, I’ve had to get used to morning yoga because of the kids’ schedule. Of course, I’m talking 9:30, which is definitely better than 8a.m. or earlier!! Still, I’d always choose nighttime if I had a choice.

  3. barefootbhakti August 6, 2007 at 8:30 pm #

    Somedays for me it’s just about showing up!

Leave a Reply

