Zen Potty-Training

13 Aug

C’mon little girlfriend… just be zen about it! My soon-to-be 3 year old daughter just won’t use that potty. Being a recovering type-A perfectionist, I’m avoiding the full court press and thought I would take a casual approach so she could figure it out naturally!

Hmmm, I don’t think that’s going to work. So far all she wants to do is be naked and read her potty book. I mean she really wants to be naked.  All of the time, everywhere. I can’t keep her in clothes! She’s not even tempted by the Dora big girl panties. I have to admit that I need to dig deep and find that type-A part of me again.

Of course, being a yogini I’m trying to use my yoga. My awareness is telling me that I secretly want her to stay a baby and am avoiding confrontation. My spirit is telling me to approach it softly and patiently. My husband is telling me to stop eating her M&M incentive rewards, and my little girl just keeps telling me “no!”

I’m putting my commitment on the calendar for tomorrow. Diapers gone, choices removed. Wish me luck and send me some good zen vibes. I’m going to manifest some dry pants!

2 Responses to “Zen Potty-Training”

  1. Lisa Gray August 13, 2007 at 10:08 pm #

    Haha. I can totally relate to eating the M & M’s!! Come on, that’s the BEST part about potty training! Raiding the children’s M&M store!!

    Good luck. Sending you best intentions….

  2. barefootbhakti August 13, 2007 at 10:27 pm #

    Thanks Lisa,
    I think I’ll buy skittles next time… no temptation. So far today the little angel has peed on her duvet and her brother’s A’s hat. She better find a new favorite brother. Good thing she has a spare…

Leave a Reply

