Monkey Mom

17 Aug

I treked out to Oakland on Wednesday for a Monkey Yoga class with Laura Camp. Totally worth the drive. It’s this combination of sweaty, hot Ashtanga-influenced yoga and Laura’s light-hearted approach to the whole event that keeps me working at my max. I’m able to just flow through class there as if it were the easiest thing ever. I don’t know why it seems so easy because it’s definitely a challenge, but I end up feeling so good afterward. I’m able to actually sweat and move deeper so that I feel the detox and joint opening at the same time. Love the pushups, love the handstands. It’s Friday now and I’m still high from it.

7 Responses to “Monkey Mom”

  1. Danelle August 17, 2007 at 9:20 pm #

    Can’t believe I missed you guys….Wed at Monkey is usually a part of my weekly schedule..I call it “chasing yoga.” I love the vibe there and I can find myself doing poses that I can’t normally achieve when I am in Laura’s class. I come out feeling detoxified and uplifted. There’s a sort of go for it attitude that I thrive on and even though some of her poses are a bit unorthodox I keep going back! Hopefully we’ll catch up with each other soon! Love, D So what day is it already?

  2. barefootbhakti August 18, 2007 at 5:54 am #

    Yes, tomorrow is Saturday! I call travelling all over tarnation to do yoga, my “pilgrimage”. I’ll miss you at class Mon night, but hopefully I’ll catch you Wed for Laura’s yoga without fear class!

  3. Lisa Gray August 18, 2007 at 2:18 pm #

    HOW many handstands does she do??? That would be my deterrent, as I’m too wimpy to do them!! ( I HAVE to fix that, SOON!!)

  4. barefootbhakti August 18, 2007 at 5:32 pm #

    OK Lisa… you’re coming with us as soon as you’re feeling up to it. There aren’t that many handstands and Laura is so playful about it that it is just a lot of fun. Let me know when you’re ready, we’ll carpool!

  5. Danelle August 18, 2007 at 11:32 pm #

    Hi Lisa! Do downward dog on the wall for awhile until you get the urge to fly on up! I’m subbing for Kevin in the am if you guys are interested. Hope Thursday’s are going well for you Laurie…I can’t make that time slot but let me know if you are ever subbing…thanks D

  6. Lisa Gray August 19, 2007 at 4:06 am #

    Thanks Danelle! I’ll keep trying! I’ll call you this week, Laurie! Planning to hit D’s class on Monday night again! I just got back in town and feeling right as rain!

  7. Lisa Gray August 19, 2007 at 4:07 am #

    Wow. That was a lot of exclamation points. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

