Mystical or Mundane?

27 Aug

Ok, I have to admit it. Lately my life has included much more of the mundane than the mystical. I’m talking toilet cleaning, bill paying, and school registration. I’ve caught myself worrying about the kids starting at new schools and felt a bit of anxiety about the future. At this point in our move I’m working out those nitty gritty details about the new house and really wanting it to all be settled. I hate to admit that it’s been at least a week since I’ve had a chance to even read anything remotely spiritual. Don’t get me started on the weird stomach virus I got that doesn’t seem to want to go away.

But then again…

I was sitting on the front porch with Drew (2 years old) and she said, “Hey mom, you wanna go to da beach?” and pretended to make a sand castle. I’ve been relating Drew at this age to a little ball and chain… always underfoot and getting into trouble. (think sharpie pen all over the kitchen appliances and cabinets.) But I have to remember that never again will I have someone who actually wants to be around me 24/7. Someone who out of the blue will squish my cheeks with her little chubby hands and give me a kiss. Now that’s love you can only get from your kids.

Let’s think. There was also that bitchy looking woman at Safeway who surprised me by being so gracious and letting me and my two items step in front of her in line. And my three sisters who have showed up the past two weekends to spend time with my family at the beach and camping at the mountains. There’s my husband who kept the kids quiet so I could sleep in on Sunday. There have been a few sweet adjustments in yoga class last week that felt sooo good.

I still don’t know if I’m feeling the mystical. But mundane is sounding better already…

One Response to “Mystical or Mundane?”

  1. Lisa Gray August 28, 2007 at 1:43 am #

    By the way, LOVE the new picture!! Hey, I recognize that floor, those walls!

    As we talked about today, having a solid mundane is partly what sets me free to pursue the mystical. I believe that they are inextricably entwined.

    Oh, and when you go off into the jungle to live, can I come too?? 🙂

Leave a Reply

