Mom’s Mantra

23 Sep

Everyday as we left for school, my mom would do a half-wink and say, “remember who you are…” I like to think that I was a deep thinker growing up, so I’m embarrased to say that it wasn’t until I was grown that I figured out what she meant. It was my first introduction with the practice of mantra.

One of my favorite books is “Consider the Butterfly” by Carol Lynn Pearson. In it, she recalls talking to her adult son and asking him what he learned from her. Expecting a trite answer, he said, “To leave the world a better place than I found it.”

Whenever I drop off a kid I find myself asking them, “who loves you?” My two-year old can give me a whole list of people from Mommy to Auntie to Grandma. My seven-year old grins from ear to ear and says “You mom.” My 12-year old rolls his eyes back in his head, grins and says good-bye, as if I’m soo lame. I guess I figure that if they get anything out of life, it’s make no mistake, “You are loved.”

Don’t be shy.  Leave a post with your Mom Mantra.

6 Responses to “Mom’s Mantra”

  1. Lisa September 23, 2007 at 3:31 am #

    First of all, aren’t you on retreat?? What gives?

    Second of all, I’ve never thought of having a mom mantra, and now realize I MUST develop one. Does “DONT FIGHT” count? 🙂 Hmmmm. It’s probably going to have something to do with taking responsibility for yourself, including your own feelings and your own part in relationship dynamics. That might be kind of heavy for my 2-year old.

  2. Julie September 24, 2007 at 1:10 am #

    My favorite is “You will never be happy with what you have if you are forever wanting more.” This is so often a challenge in the materialistic world in which we live, I’m not sure it’s getting through now but hopefully someday it will sink in (for both them and me).

  3. Laurie September 24, 2007 at 4:11 am #

    Lisa… I think maybe “remember who you are” might cover the bases for you. (My retreat fell through, It’s very sad.)

    Julie… so yogic… I love it. All unhappiness comes from a disconnect with reality. Very zen.

  4. SillyNut September 25, 2007 at 12:03 am #

    Mine family’s is “You’re a nut….”

    Hmmmm, what’s that say about us?

  5. Sattva September 25, 2007 at 12:07 am #

    Well SillyNut,
    You might have us all beat. I think you’ve found the answer to life!

  6. wlc September 28, 2007 at 5:56 am #

    Enjoy every moment, of being a mom. It happens so fast I am just trying to embrace all that I can.
    Life flys by, “don’t blink!”

Leave a Reply

