satya

24 Sep

Satya, the yama of truthfulness. I just read my posts and I must say, I sound like a great mom! It’s great to be the author here, but in all satya, it’s not exactly a fair portrayal. Let me leave an official disclaimer of sorts to realign myself with the universe.

I am a good mom. I do love my kids. But… I started having kids when I was 23 years old. I should have been graduating from college, but instead I was entering the school of parenting. (with a very painful entrance exam) My children range from 12-2 years old. I’m tired. Tired of being woken up at all hours of the night and day, tired of making food that I don’t like, tired of cleaning up after everyone else. Tired of having no money, no time and limited amounts of patience. I hate to admit it, but the little macaroni necklaces were much cuter the first time around.

That’s why this yoga path is so near and dear to me. It makes 100% of the difference to find a sacred moment in the middle of washing the dishes, or a real connection with one of the kids. It means that this life I’ve created is exactly what I need for my spiritual evolution and my family is as connected to that cause as I am to theirs. Yoga reminds me that being selfless is a priority, and every nose I wipe is a symbolic gesture of love.

Yoga cured me of my perfectionism. I don’t have to become perfect, because I already am perfect. In this moment, I am exactly where I should be. I was able to release a deep breath that I’d been holding for years.

Isn’t that the way it is for everyone? We all have gurus in our lives. We are all linked to certain people for a purpose. Some are children, some act like children! Some we find it easy to love, and others we struggle with. Usually when the guru is manifested within something or someone challenging, we have the opportunity to learn the most. We’re able to live a life that is special-ordered just for us. I love the quote by Hafiz: “This place where you are right now, God circled on a map for you.”

One Response to “satya”

  1. SillyNut September 25, 2007 at 12:00 am #

    >>>I don’t have to become perfect, because I already am perfect. In this moment, I am exactly where I should be.<<<

    That’s how I feel. Seriously.

    It amazes me sometimes how it’s those of us who are letting go of being perfect, who are leaving.

Leave a Reply

