No you di-n’t…

26 Sep

Yep, I did. I went on-line last night at 1am and blasted Oprah! What a negative post.  I feel the need to clear the air. No better way to do that than to discuss a little tidbit of Oprah wisdom.

I remember a quote from her show which has proven to be really wise. “When somebody shows you who they are, believe them. ”

I remember sitting in a yoga class with a popular teacher. It was the most serious class ever. I felt as if I were on the beach doing a Rodney Yee video. I was worried that if the teacher broke a smile she might crumble into a thousand tiny pieces. (hee hee… hidden Oprah reference)  I knew I couldn’t giggle, and I couldn’t dance or I might disrupt the deep spiritual mojo that everyone but me was experiencing. We left after a very serious and somber reading of yogic text and a super depressing “namaste”.

It hit me. When someone shows you who they are, believe them. I’m sure the teacher was a very kind person, but one thing was for sure – she wasn’t happy. I just didn’t buy what she was selling.

I want a teacher who can show me the real deal. Sometimes it’s messy or ugly, but that’s ok with me. At the very least, I want a teacher who loves yoga! Somebody who is ok with where they are in life and is embracing it passionately. Someone for who I can say, “wow, that’s really working for you!”

I remember taking a class from Laura Camp on Valentine’s Day. I found out the day before that I was pregnant with #3 and was a bit nauseaus. Right before the abdominal section of class, she pumped on the theme from Flashdance and started to narrate the story with great importance and drama. Try doing abs while laughing hysterically and trying not to throw up. I looked over, and there’s Laura being her normal silly self, poking fun at the universe. It’s a game I want to play and  it doesn’t get messier or more blissful. I’ll buy what she’s selling and that’s what I call yoga.

When somebody shows you who they are, believe them!

2 Responses to “No you di-n’t…”

  1. Lisa September 27, 2007 at 3:19 pm #

    So what’s the deal with you and Oprah?? Sometimes it sounds like you can’t stand her, and then you really latch on to some piece of wisdom you got from the show! I’m confused. Love her or hate her?? I’m neutral myself. She got a million people reading, and she might get a million people doing yoga. Those that don’t have – or develop – a real love for it will fall away, for sure.

    I really like the quote, though. We often want to second guess ourselves so that we don’t seem judgmental. A lot to think about in your Oprah rants……

    And I’ve GOT to get to a Laura Camp class one of these days…

  2. Laurie September 27, 2007 at 7:52 pm #

    Let me be a bit sarcastic and honest at the same time…

    Who doesn’t love Oprah? Come on…she’s so wise does so much good in this world. That’s no joke.

    There’s just something a bit eerie about her cult-like following.

Leave a Reply

