meditation

2 Nov

November 1st. It’s the first day of my month of meditation. I love it, but somehow it feels like something frivolous or extra.  Sit. Do nothing. Wow, just the act of giving myself permission to sit and be still is healing all in itself. It’s also a bit unsettling.

My favorite analogy for meditation is that our thoughts are a river and our true selves are riding downstream.  At first we go through life, not realizing that we are not the river so we hang on for dear life and bang up against every rock and branch. It’s a pretty brutal existence. I am my thoughts… bang! I believe my thoughts… smack! When we start meditation, we take the ride and jump to the bank of the river as much as we can. If we can make it to the bank of the river, we can watch our thoughts go by and catch our breath. The thoughts still move fast and loud, but at least we are able to be an observer of the river rather than the river itself. After some practice, we can eventually develop the ability to dam up the river completely or let it flow at will. Or so they say.

Today was a fun adventure. I was in the river, and sat on the banks of the river dripping. Back into the river, onto the banks.  It went on for some time. One thing I have learned to do with meditation is laugh at myself and the thoughts that keep popping up again and again.

Try to not think at all for 5 minutes. I guarantee it will keep you busy!

2 Responses to “meditation”

  1. seangreenfrog November 2, 2007 at 10:08 pm #

    Second day in and I’m still onboard. 😉

  2. barefootbhakti November 4, 2007 at 1:02 am #

    Yay! Me too. It feels really good…

Leave a Reply

