Good books

13 Dec

I remember coming home from high school to find my Mom in the garage on top of a ladder while my little sister was reading instructions from a repair manual. The electric garage door was broken and my mom was determined to fix it herself. She always said, “You can find the answer to everything in a book.”

True to her own words, she brought me a beautiful Christmas present…  a visit and a copy of the Tao Te Ching.

#11 is her favorite:

We join spokes together in a wheel,

but it is the center hole

that makes the wagon move.

 

We shape clay into a pot,

but it is the emptiness inside

that holds whatever we want.

 

We hammer wood for a house,

but it is the inner space

that makes it livable.

 

We work with being,

but non-being is what we use.

Thanks mom 🙂

3 Responses to “Good books”

  1. greenfrog December 14, 2007 at 1:10 am #

    My line from the Tao Te Ching:

    …evince the plainness of undyed silk.

  2. greenfrog December 14, 2007 at 1:11 am #

    Woops. that should have read, “favorite line”. I didn’t really write any of the lines of the Tao Te Ching.

  3. barefootbhakti December 14, 2007 at 7:13 am #

    It’s a fun book and helps me look and think outside of my norm. For example, pulling out the dictionary to look up the word “evince”!

Leave a Reply

