Cool Demo

12 Jan

Thanks for the link Danelle. I’ve seen her demos before and they just blow me away. Her personal practice is amazing.

Hey – Let’s do this sequence in class next week!

4 Responses to “Cool Demo”

  1. greenfrog January 13, 2008 at 8:30 am #

    Ana Forrest came through Denver a year or two ago, and I had the opportunity to attend a workshop she led. She is one of the most generous teachers I’ve had the pleasure of meeting. Ever since I’d first been introduced to Crow Pose, I’d always felt certain that it could form the initial step toward a full Handstand, though I hadn’t the foggiest idea of how to get from the one to the other.

    In the workshop, she had us team up, one person in Crow, the other standing behind the other, supporting the first at the hips, and together, the first was to press upward while the spotter lifted, and together to Handstand. The person I was working with was so much smaller than I (I’m 6’3″ and at the time I was about 190 lbs.) that the combination of my weak back and her small size prevented me from getting from Crow up. Ana saw us through a crowd of many dozens of other pairs of partners, came over and said something to the effect of “I’m big enough to get you up,” and proceeded to spot/lift me from Crow to Handstand. Doing that brought my sense from the vaguely imagined to a concrete experience.

    It was enough to inspire me to commit even more to my practice ever since. I’m still not strong enough to press up from Crow to Handstand on my own, but I’m getting closer.

    The very best yoga teachers I’ve encountered were the ones who simultaneously enabled me to understand that everything is exactly ok as it is, enabled me to find a path toward greater development, and inspired me to continue moving down the path.

    She is one of those.

  2. barefootbhakti January 13, 2008 at 1:33 pm #

    What a good story. I think Ana is one of the most interesting yoginis out there. She really puts everything she’s got into yoga and she shows that the practice of yoga for healing really works. Dedication in action. I would love to read a book about her personal journey. Maybe someday she’ll let me write her biography?

    In the meantime, I’m looking forward to a workshop on inversions tomorrow with Danelle, a Forrest Yoga teacher at our local studio.

  3. Danelle January 23, 2008 at 12:34 pm #

    I love her instruction to move from crow to handstand. She has a great way of showing the assist and when you get your butt up there and free yourself from the fear of it all it is quite the feeling indeed!

  4. barefootbhakti January 24, 2008 at 4:33 pm #

    Often when I’m in bakasana and I hit that sweet spot, I can just feel my body lifting into handstand. Ha. .. it’s just my energetic body doing it without my skin and bones. Interesting though how you can find those poses in your body before ever actually doing them!

Leave a Reply

