happy birthday to me…

16 Mar

Hallelujah, I’m still alive! At the end of the month I will celebrate 36 years of life on this planet, in this fascinating body of mine. What a journey that seems to only get better with age. For my gift, I asked for a weekend “retreat” of sorts. My husband who is a yogi in his own right (I’ll save that for another post), took a day off of work and has helped me trek all over the Bay Area for a three day bliss fest.

 Yesterday I had the pleasure of taking Ana Forrest’s Gravity Surfing workshop. I adore an intense practice and I appreciate Ana’s dedication to teaching. Y’all know how much I love inversions and arm balances, so gravity surfing from pose to pose for me was just like a kid in a candy store. I was able to go deep into breathing, let go and do all sorts of fun things like half-lotus handstands. (with the help of my new best friend whose mat was next to mine.) I knew I was deep in the moment when practice brought up all sorts of “aha” moments for me.

 Today though, was a day of awakening for me. I drove up to Spirit Rock which is an Buddhist retreat center north of San Francisco so gorgeous it’s mind-blowing. Byron Katie held a daylong retreat there, going over The Work. I’ve been working with Tolle’s new book and have read Katie’s book, “Loving What Is”, but to be learning in person was no comparison to reading. She explained non-duality in a way that resonated so deeply for me, that I will never be the same again. There is no going back for me, I’ve exploded old thought patterns and pushed past stuck places. Even though there’s still a lot of work to do with my thoughts, I will never be the same again. I cannot get over the peaceful feeling of bliss that I feel right now and my acceptance of this moment.

 I will try to post more on the specifics of Katie’s workshop when time allows. Tomorrow I’m off for a 6am class in San Francisco with Ana again before she leaves town. 6am… yea, that’s my crazy idea of fun.

3 Responses to “happy birthday to me…”

  1. ScottyDoo March 16, 2008 at 11:56 am #

    Sounds like a wonderful experience. I really wish we had some nice Buddhist centers or Zen centers here in St. George, but we have none that I know of. If I were interested in staying in this town, or state, I would love to start my own.

    I’ll have to look up Katie’s book. I’m really starting to enjoy reading now that I’ve found things that fulfill me.

  2. Lisa Gray March 17, 2008 at 4:44 am #

    Good job spoiling yourself. And give that husband of yours a “good job” from me too!! What a great present.

  3. greenfrog March 17, 2008 at 7:41 am #

    When you can, please say more about your experience and understanding of nonduality. I’ve stumbled into an experience of it recently, and I lack context to process some of it.

Leave a Reply

