Debbie Downer

27 Mar

The other day, I was trying to remember what life was like for me in college. I was sad, thinking about how I viewed the world back then and how it kept me in such a state of dissatisfaction and sadness. Once I noticed the sadness, it just melted away and I started laughing hysterically as the image of “Debbie Downer” came into my mind’s eye. Rachel Dratch cracks me up! (click here to see.) Now I so dream of writing a Debbie Downer sketch for SNL where she goes to a yoga class and freaks out over the dirty mats and crazy poses, but can’t get enough of corpse position at the end of class.

Do you have any Debbies in your life? Be nice to them… they just might be the old me reincarnated – and it’s no fun to be her. Unless of course, you’re Rachel Dratch.

3 Responses to “Debbie Downer”

  1. Julie March 28, 2008 at 8:11 am #

    I think the SNL sketch for my early college years would’ve been “Clueless w/ a boyfriend”
    You could probably vouch for me, eh?

  2. barefootbhakti March 28, 2008 at 12:39 pm #

    Ha ha…. now I no for sure that the universe has a sense of humor. I write a post about how horrible I was in college, and it happens to be the day that you, my freshman roommate finds my blog in cyber-space. I love it.

    You found me and now my guru cover is blown! I wonder if anyone would believe that I was the same girl who threw a bottle of hairspray at you for singing at 6am in our dorm room? So fun to see you around these parts… and hey, at least you had a boyfriend back then:) or two, or three…

  3. Julie C. March 30, 2008 at 9:09 am #

    Not sure which I find funnier, you (the calm and peaceful yogi I have always known) throwing a bottle in a fit of rage, or you actually owning (and using) hairspray! Must have been the eighties!

Leave a Reply

