Superstar!

14 Apr

It’s Laurie Gallagher… SUPERSTAR! (Imagine me wearing a catholic school girl uniform striking that John Travolta pose, ala Mollie Shannon and Mary Katherine…)

I’ve had the chance lately to teach yoga to some young groups of girls at church. The first group was girls ranging in age from 8-11, the second group was girls ages 12-18. I love teaching teens, especially when they’ve never done yoga before. There’s a spark there, when they think they’re going to be sitting and stretching and they find themselves in over their heads, flying in bakasana. Who knew they could ever do some of those poses, or would ever care about taking on a challenge like that?

Well, after these classes, I’m getting fun comments. The girls give me little grins as I pass them in the halls at church and their parents are commenting about the rumor their girls started, that I am “freakishly strong”. I feel a little bit like a superstar… or at least a slight elevation from the frumpy mom of three who can never show up to meetings on time.

It’s the end of a busy week, and I’m wondering… do I have a point?…. oh yes! After watching all of these girls get their first real taste of yoga, it reminds me – yoga is fun! The girls had a blast, and even though I had to yell over all of their giggling and gossiping, I had a blast too. Watching them open their minds up to something new and give it their all, reminded me of my first few yoga classes, so intimidated, but having a great time too.

5 Responses to “Superstar!”

  1. greenfrog April 15, 2008 at 12:07 am #

    Coincidental timing: I’m slated to teach a yoga class to the young women in my congregation in the next couple of days.

    “freakishly strong”???!!?

    Sounds like an entirely good thing, to me.

  2. Laurie Gallagher (barefootbhakti) April 15, 2008 at 12:20 am #

    Oh… they love it, so does the relief society… I think I’ve taught 8 church based classes now. (plus teaching the youth at the universalist unitarian congregation… now they’re really fun.)

    Be sure and sing “lokah samasta, sukino bhavantu…” to ensure that you solidify your place in the ward as “that crazy yoga man!”….

  3. greenfrog April 15, 2008 at 2:35 am #

    I will do that, though I may use my favorite Sanskrit version of the loving-kindness meditation:

    Sarve bhavantu sukhinah
    Sarve santu niramayah
    Sarve bhadrani pasciantu
    Makascid dukkha bhag bhavet.

    And I always begin my own practice with the Anusara invocation.

    How much Sanskrit can I get away with, do you think?

  4. Lisa Gray April 15, 2008 at 8:46 am #

    oooh, you guys are SUCH rebels!! šŸ™‚

  5. barefootbhakti April 18, 2008 at 5:42 am #

    You can get away with whatever you want! Especially if the message is peace and love… what good Christian doesn’t love a sanskrit chant about peace and love? Return and report…let us know how class goes.

Leave a Reply

