Falling in love

6 Aug

At the risk of sounding like a self-interested, walking advertisement – I’ve fallen in love with Jollene’s Cosmic Rhythms Class. I finally made it to her class and I enjoyed it so much that it’s going to be a top priority for me.

Bare feet, rhythmic tribal dance, good friends and letting loose – that’s what every yogi needs to really feel free. Seriously, I don’t know anybody who doesn’t need to let their hair down and let their body go. I’m feeling a little blissed out today!

Typically, I don’t like fusion classes. I really don’t like generic name classes, even though I used them at my studio. I would rather know exactly what I’m going into, and I always want to go to the straight-up yoga classes. There’s something though, about the rhythmic dance, that is so healing and freeing. Your body has the chance to search for it’s own movement, it’s own pattern, it’s own release. Pulling prana through movement is the real deal and gets those chakras humming.

Through my dripping sweat, I feel like I dumped years of repression onto the beautiful bamboo floor today. Ahhh.

2 Responses to “Falling in love”

  1. Lisa Gray August 6, 2008 at 5:37 am #

    Really? Wow. Ok, I gotta go — haven’t been yet, either! Dance isn’t usually my thing….but I did like her class in the past….so I’ll try again!

  2. Jason Ricca October 14, 2008 at 6:07 am #

    Hmm. I left that class ten minutes early, feeling confused, with a massive blister on one of my big toes. While I can say I like Jollene, and wouldn’t specifically say that I didn’t like the class, I wasn’t adequately prepared for the energy of, and that released by, a dance class. Especially when I was expecting something more yog-ish. ;o) Oh well, I’ll try it again in a year!

Leave a Reply

