The world can start again.

23 Aug

I’ve finished Dharma Punks by Noah Levine. Man – it’s been a long, long time since a book has sucked me in the way this one did. I have a huge stack of books that I’m dying to catch up on and so when I bumped into Michelle H on Thursday and she said “Oh, I noticed you’re reading The Gradual Awakening by Stevine Levine for book club. I brought this book by his son for you – he went to my school.” – I thought that I probably shouldn’t borrow the book. It would just end up sitting on my big guilt pile of to-be-reads. But, that book had caught my attention before, so mixed with a great review from Michelle, I gladly borrowed. Then, I opened the front page and was hooked. I read all last night, not because his writing was stellar, but because I was totally absorbed in Noah’s story of how the dharma quite literally saved his life. Somehow, the craziness of his life really resonated in my own and I just had to see how it ended.

It ended with me sitting on the (closed) toilet seat while monitoring Drew’s bath because I quite literally couldn’t wait until later to finish the last chapter. Drew up to her chin in bubbles singing happy tunes – me on the throne, tears streaming down my cheeks. Drew was naturally concerned why I was crying and all I could say was, “Mommy’s reading a really good book.”  She looked a little confused and then said, “OK, mommy has red eyes.” and went back to her bubbles. She gets it. She’s a book hound too.

5 Responses to “The world can start again.”

  1. greenfrog August 24, 2008 at 5:19 am #

    (reading now)

  2. greenfrog August 25, 2008 at 9:44 am #

    “…love is the only rational act of a lifetime.”

  3. barefootbhakti August 25, 2008 at 9:58 am #

    For a frog, you sure read fast!

    I love the idea of a year of dying. I can’t wait to get into his father’s book.

  4. greenfrog August 25, 2008 at 11:15 pm #

    reading fast is easy. i skip all the parts that don’t specifically mention frogs.

  5. ScottyDoo August 29, 2008 at 12:46 pm #

    This book has been on my list for a long time, but it’s just not in the budget right now, will have to wait.

    My friend who introduced me to Zen also introduced me to this book. He worked in a “troubled teens” shelter/school here in St. George (we have a million of those places) and they all read through the book together. Said it was incredible to watch the kids change as they really got into the book and how they felt a connection, etc.

    I have a PDF of his second book, Against the Stream, that I checked out from an online library, but would almost rather wait to read this first.

Leave a Reply

