Listen

24 Sep

This week has been interesting. I’ve been working to really listen to my body and honor it. Let me tell you, that’s much harder than it sounds. I’ve had a craving to jog lately. I love to jog on the trails, be outdoors and be amongst all of the outdoorsy, healthy people on the trails. As an added benefit, I picked up right where I left off jogging last spring before we opened Cosmic Dog and my life turned upside down. My body has been loving that repetitive movement and deep breathing. The yoga has sustained my strength and lung capacity so that I could pick up right where I left off five months earlier. So, I’ve had six jogging sessions this week that felt like heaven. Yesterday I happily hit the trail and surprisingly, I just couldn’t get a rhythm going. It was hard, and I was struggling. After about 20 minutes of hell, I decided to walk it out and listen.

As I walked, I discovered two things. Listening to my body, I discovered that my IT band was tight and probably inflamed from a sudden resurgence or repetitive motion, and that I was literally, physically tired. As in, I wanted to sleep. I remembered that I had been having crazy dreams that night and had woken tired, but I’ve been so busy, I didn’t give it any thought. I hadn’t even notice that I was at the point of exhaustion. Years earlier, in my fitness days, I would have pushed straight through those messages from my body or felt guilty for walking! Now, it just feels liberating to notice and honor the speed of my body that day. And it felt really loving and kind to give myself the permission to simply walk.

I’ve been so busy lately that I’m not noticing some very simple things. I was able to walk along the gorgeous trail and really notice the beautiful trees and my breath expansion. I realized in that moment that I had not really even looked at my kids that morning before they went to school. In fact, it’s been a while since I’ve really sat in stillness and soaked them up. It’s been a while since I’ve done anything without being rushed or feeling urgency.

I didn’t feel guilty about walking as I might have a few years ago, but I did feel a sense of realization wash over me. A-ha….. I need to slow down. I find it amazing what the body will tell me and where it will take me when I just listen. I wonder what it will tell me today?

Leave a Reply

