Lisa – oh business partner of mine, how I love thee!

28 Sep

Let me count the ways:

1. I love the way that the employees refer to you as “big brother”, how you always catch mistakes before they become MISTAKES.

2. I love how you are so anal in your approach to work, so that I don’t have to be.

3. I love your EQ – that high level of emotional maturity is really completely appreciated. You know how to accept an apology and how to give one.

4. I love that your kids adore my kids and my kids adore your kids.

5. I love that you are so supportive and non-reactive when I tell you about my personal problems, as if you hadn’t just spent 8 hours the day before counseling marital couples. Thanks for pretending you are not a therapist and can see through all of my neurosis when we chat. I know you’re faking it, and I appreciate the effort.

6. I love that you are goal oriented. It is the perfect match to my nature of being process-oriented.

7. I love that you don’t care if I order those super cool ultra-hip yoga mats, even though you hate them. (you know I would do the same for you!)

8. I love that you have honorary LDS membership. You get why I’m so crazy.

9. I love that your house is occasionally messy and you don’t clean it up when I come over. It means were family.

10. I love that your husband is so chill about everything and is so amazingly talented. It’s like getting a two-for-one special.

Bonus #11 – I love that I finally have someone to discuss books with. Real books – not the twilight series!

7 Responses to “Lisa – oh business partner of mine, how I love thee!”

  1. Lisa Gray September 28, 2008 at 11:23 pm #

    #1: Aw, thanks!
    #2: You are NOT neurotic!
    #3: Does this mean you’re NOT going to discuss the Twilight series with me?? (I’m ordering book 4!)

  2. barefootbhakti September 29, 2008 at 12:54 am #

    #3 – Oh no. The friendship is over. I did not realize you were a “twilight” person. …. If I hear one more cute little Mormon mom tell me that “I HAVE to read the books”, I’m going to start an official book burning! The books sound horrible!

  3. greenfrog September 29, 2008 at 8:46 am #

    I’m going to start an official book burning!

    Channelling the vice presidential candidate?

  4. barefootbhakti September 29, 2008 at 10:30 am #

    It must be contagious….

  5. ScottyDoo September 29, 2008 at 8:27 pm #

    My wife is not one to follow trends, she avoids them at all costs, but she is a fan of the Twilight series…though not because the author is LDS. She just loves any book that has to do with vampires.

    If you enjoy that style, but want something more adult by an incredible author, then look for the Anita Blake series by Laurell K. Hamilton. Incredible. (these are VERY adult by the way, can be quite graphic, with blood and sex).

  6. Lisa Gray October 3, 2008 at 12:01 am #

    oh, I didn’t know the author was LDS!! There’s me with my unconscious honorary membership again!

    Laurie, I know they sound really dumb, but once you start, you CANNOT stop. I’m serious.

  7. Laurie Gallagher (barefootbhakti) October 3, 2008 at 12:05 am #

    I believe you! (and the other 800 women who have told me so.) I’m fully committed to not picking up the books. : )

Leave a Reply

