Prop 8

15 Oct

I totally get that people disagree about politics – that’s cool. I like to give people their space and I like to have space when it comes to political opinions. Proposition 8 though, really hits home to me and I’m glad to have the right to a voice in the matter.

I think of all the titles I’m uncomfortable labeling myself as yet accurately describe me and shape my path in this world: yogi, student of Christ – Buddha, Mormon, mother, bodhi-sattva, bhakti, straight, female, etc. and how can I possibly vote against gay marriage?

Equality, love and acceptance. The pursuit of happiness, the art of accepting your true nature as whole and perfect. The world could use a little more of this.

Please vote No on Prop 8.

8 Responses to “Prop 8”

  1. Julie October 15, 2008 at 4:09 am #

    Laurie,
    I respect and appreciate your thoughts, and recognize that you must feel rather strongly to voice them on your blog. While I think you and I ultimately fall on different sides of the fence on this issue, I am very much in agreement with you about being loving, understanding, supportive and non-judgemental to those who have beliefs different from mine. I don’t want to deny anyone their happiness and benefits. I wish that this issue was not so morally charged. I wish that we could find some moderate ground on which to discuss the issue and find resolution.

    My brother says, “As for the argument that some people give that gay marriage will damage the institution of marriage, I have long thought that heterosexuals have been destroying that sacred institution for decades. It’s a little disingenuous to start pointing fingers at the gay community about it now.”

  2. barefootbhakti October 15, 2008 at 4:24 am #

    Very well said Julie. I wish everybody were as loving and calm as you are.

  3. faaunionbusting October 15, 2008 at 5:14 am #

    As a marriage counselor, I couldn’t agree more, Julie. We are already destroying the sanctity of marriage just fine before we even consider the gay marriage issue….

    And…I already voted no.

  4. Julie C. October 15, 2008 at 5:51 am #

    I’m just catching up on your blog and am happy to see this post! I feel very strongly that allowing gay marriage will in no way change my marriage or my family, who am I to say that I am right and they are wrong? I disagree that this is a moral issue, it is only an equality issue plain and simple. I find it ironic that the religious institutions that are supposed to be teaching their followers about kindness, acceptance and equality under the eyes of God are the ones so fervently opposed to this. Perhaps this is a great time for them to start practicing what they preach. Wow what a rant, I guess you can call me a fervent supporter of No on Prop 8!

  5. barefootbhakti October 15, 2008 at 11:40 am #

    Julie C, I agree that this is not a moral issue, but an equality issue. Here is a nice little quote from one of my favorite blogs at lesbiandad.net. It’s from a letter written by the sister of the blog author.

    “When my good friend Cathy officiated at my sister’s marriage this summer, she quoted the Supreme Court’s decision with pride. At the reception, which was at my house, were the happy sounds of children – lots of them! Lesbian couples are marrying to provide a stable base for their children, much the same reason that Trond and I married. I was proud to be part of a place where children are valued and protected in this manner. And I must do what I can to protect my sister, her wife, their children and the integrity of their marriage. They are the ones needing protecting – not marriage itself!

    It will break my heart if Proposition 8 passes. Every time I see a Yes on 8 sign, it is like a hard kick to my innards. For me, it is deeply personal. It is my sister. My sweet niece and nephew. It reminds me of our mutual friends [an interracial couple], who some years ago would be facing the same prejudice.”

    There are many people who believe that homosexuality is a sin. Is it OK to push your beliefs on others? I say it’s not OK, especially if it is justifying discrimination. Let those who want to be married live in peace. I can’t help but think of those families out there who need our help. Thanks for voting NO!

  6. ScottyDoo October 16, 2008 at 12:39 am #

    I had a moment last night…

    I was browsing around on facebook and saw that one of my cousins had “become a supporter” (as they call it) of a cause/campaign created on facebook called “No on Prop 8 | Don’t Eliminate Marriage for Anyone”

    After seeing that I proudly added my support to the group and joined up.

    Then late last night (early this morning) my cousin, who is a proud gay man, left a comment on my joining, that said the following:

    “This probably sounds entirely retarded, but the fact that you are ‘No on Prop 8’ means quite a lot, Mr. Cousin. Quite a lot. :-)”

    I was truly happy that it meant so much to him. I went to sleep with a smile on my face.

  7. barefootbhakti October 16, 2008 at 2:51 am #

    ScottyDoo
    That is a cool story. I wish you lived in CA and could vote!

    When the religious groups say that this is a morality issue, they are really saying to gays, “you were born broken. Your inherent human nature is that of sin.” When they go out of their way to put time, money and energy fighting proposition 8, they are saying, “We are right and you are wrong. homosexuality is unacceptable. The heterosexual way is Godly, and nothing else counts.”

    What does a gay person want out of marriage? It’s not just about sex. They want the same things out of marriage that I do: connection, love, support and commitment.

    It’s really ridiculous. I’m so glad that you supported your cousin, I’m not surprised that it does mean a lot to him.

  8. treesa October 17, 2008 at 7:35 am #

    thanks for the great post laurie. spread the love!

    (I also read lesbiandad, and that quote brought tears to my eyes! And her photos are beautiful as well! Especially the pictures of their daughter… Reminds me of someone I know! 😉 )

Leave a Reply

