While we’re on the subject…

17 Oct

of politics. What do you all think about Prop 2? It basically requires that by 2015, all California farmer’s need to adapt their animal enclosures so that their chickens, sows, and cows can turn around, lie down, stand up, and extend their limbs. This is not about free range, or letting the animals see the sun. It’s not about encouraging the animals to live in their own natural instincts. It just says that they should be able to turn around, lie down, stand up, and extend their limbs. The egg laying chickens can still be stacked cage on top of cage, pooping on top of each other.The animals can still be factory farmed and enclosed. We’re talking about a simple widening of the cages by sometimes 2 feet, or not packing the chicken cages so tight with animals so that the chickens can spread their wings and the baby cows can turn around.

The downside to Prop 2 is real. This type of automated farming is so common now that it will really affect the farmers – some of who have been in farming for generations. I take that pretty seriously – we don’t want people to suffer either. I see this shift in farming inevitable though, and the farmer’s will be given until 2015 to make the necessary changes. From what I’ve read, it seems like eggs will be affected the most. We’ll probably end up importing more eggs from out of state to comply with this proposition, and the cost will go up.

People are waking up – they are paying more attention. Green is growing and awareness is heightened. I see this as a necessary step, and I have empathy for both the farming industry and all of us who may pay higher prices. I don’t think everybody should be vegetarian – it’s a big shift and it’s unrealistic. I do feel better about my 3 carnivorous family members buying meat products that came from happy animals though. I’m relieved to be a vegetarian and I’ve committed to buy free range eggs. I don’t think prop 2 is enough but I think it’s a start in the right direction.

What do you think?

My family raised a few free range chickens and I used to get to gather the eggs. One small chicken coop was so overwhelmingly stinky. I cant look at this picture without holding my breath!

My family raised a few free range chickens and I used to "get to" gather the eggs. One small chicken coop was so overwhelmingly stinky. I can't look at this picture without holding my breath!

Which eggs do you want to eat?

Which eggs do you want to eat? And don't even get me started on baby cows...

4 Responses to “While we’re on the subject…”

  1. ScottyDoo October 17, 2008 at 2:18 am #

    I would agree that it’s a start…something has to be the catalyst that creates the motion of change, and maybe this is something to help kick it into gear.

  2. Lisa Gray October 18, 2008 at 4:40 am #

    Actually, I voted no. Many of the parts of this proposition that provide for the welfare of the animals are already covered in other laws. Also (I’m out of town so don’t have the paperwork in front of me) I was disturbed when I saw the groups that were for it and the groups that were against it….there was something about that that turned the tide for me. I vacillated a lot on this one, but ended up voting no. There’s a lot of money that it costs taxpayers in increased regulation as well as the higher price of eggs. I don’t mind paying higher prices for eggs, but I do want to be able to eat local — and I’d rather at this moment that my tax dollars go into schools and the economy than regulation for chickens to be more comfortable.

    Just my two cents. 🙂

  3. barefootbhakti October 18, 2008 at 5:07 am #

    This one is not a slam dunk at all… it’s murky. When you get back into town, will you send me the info of the other laws that cover welfare for the animals? I’m curious to know if farmer’s are ignoring it or not. I know what you mean about the groups involved – I often have averse reactions because of associations.

    I agree about the finances – this issue really affects economics and it’s so hard to know how to go. Is it green if they’ll have to import eggs? Which farms will go out of business? Do they have any business running a farm where animals don’t see daylight? I’m leaning yes though, because those animals are living a life that’s so inhumane – without getting militant about it this time around, I just don’t think I want anything to do with thoughtless production of animal product.

    FWIW – I like what I’ve read about the agricultural movement in the UK. Seems like they’ve made some big adjustments in their approach to farming.

  4. barefootbhakti October 18, 2008 at 5:07 am #

    Lisa – BTW, how and why did you vote so early?

Leave a Reply

