Let me really digress.

20 Oct

Tonight at dinner, Drew said the prayer. She always says the dinner prayer, even if someone else says it first.

In her sassy voice she prayed: “Dear Heavenly Father, thank you for the food and the poopie. Amen.”

Me: “Not OK Drew. Please say that prayer again.”

Drew: “Dear Heavenly Father, please help me to stop saying poopie. Amen.”

3 Responses to “Let me really digress.”

  1. ScottyDoo October 22, 2008 at 10:46 pm #

    I’m constantly laughing at the things my son Tyler says. He’s 3 and the stubborn kid decided that he wants to talk now, and boy can his conversations be interesting.

    Last night I was at the computer while my wife was at work and he brings me the cordless phone, and this is the basic conversation:

    Tyler: “I want call Mom…I poopy…it’s disgusting”

    Me: “What does that have to do with calling mom?”

    Tyler: “Want talk to Mom, she help with poopy”

    Me: “I can help you with that Tyler, we don’t have to bother Mom at work”

    Tyler: “Soooorrrrryyyyy Daddy (he says dramatically)…I let you help. Thank you Daddy!”

    Just little stuff like this makes me laugh. I think there are certain things only a parent would find funny. I told the story to some of my co-workers and they just looked at me and didn’t seem to find anything funny about it. Oh well, it made me smile =)

  2. Brandilyn Haynes October 29, 2008 at 5:25 am #

    Hey, Laurie! Long time, no see…just wanted to say hello and let you know that i occasionally read your blog and it’s very entertaining to me πŸ™‚ your kids are super cute and i hope everything’s going well for you…the new place is GORGEOUS, too, by the way πŸ™‚

    brandilyn

  3. barefootbhakti October 29, 2008 at 6:24 am #

    Thanks Brandilyn! Your wedding was so fun – I can’t believe that you’re an old married woman now. I can’t live vicariously through you anymore!

Leave a comment