Barefoot Barack-ti

5 Nov

barackti-flow

Oh! My in-box is carrying an invitation to Rusty Well’s Barackti-flow class tonight (along with this lovely photos that I stole). I would call in sick for work tonight, but my boss is a real slave driver. Never fear, we’ll celebrate at The Dog today. What an election!!

Start now:

I’m desperately disappointed in Prop 8. Just because the majority got what they wanted, doesn’t mean it’s not discrimination. Judges have stepped in throughout history when the majority wasn’t able to see clearly. In 1860 the judges stepped in to over-ride the south on slavery, and in the 50’s they stepped in for equal rights again. Sigh. Looks like we have a way to go with equal rights. I’ll be louder next time, I promise. Maybe I should have worn that No on 8 t-shirt to church (it’s all about the fashion choices, right?), or snuck signs in front of my house when my politically shy/publicly neutral husband was gone at work.

Prop 2 is a surprise to me. 63% of Californians voted to give farm animals the ability to spread out their limbs and turn around in their cages. Sounds like a small thing, but the impact will be big. I won’t tell you how I voted, but I will say that if you’re going to make a mistake, make a big one. I may have just made a big mistake in my voting – we’ll have to see how it all turns out. Ironically, yesterday I was dying for some meat for the first time in two months.

So yesterday in California we dealt with the Presidential race, teen abortion, funding for hospitals and green projects and transportation, veterans neds, gay marriage and farm animals. So glad to be able to vote.

Here’s to HOPE!

Leave a Reply

