To cheer or not to cheer

7 Nov
Don't blink or you'll miss him. He's super skinny and super fast! He also does handstands on the sidelines when he's timed out. Little yogi dude!

Kieran has an amazing soccer coach this year. Great kids, mellow parents, lots of hard work and no drama. Thus, his team is undefeated. We just played our first championship game and won. (Lord knows, after the dozens of lost games over the past seven years we deserve a season where the kids actually win.)

Yay! Go team!

Wait – that means I have to show up again on Saturday. Possibly twice. And if they keep all of this winning up, we’ll even have to be there on Sunday. This has been a fun season and all, but it feels like it will never end!

I have to consciously fight the wicked thoughts in my head, like paying my child to throw the game so we don’t have to drag the banner, the kids, the snacks, the water bottle out AGAIN. I’m so done with it.

But – once I’m there it’s so much fun!

But – now I have to miss the Yin workshop at my own yoga studio.

But – I wouldn’t miss Kieran’s big game for the world. Besides, Dan’s out of town this weekend and I’m all the K-man’s got. Lucky for him, I’m the loud parent.

Sigh. The duality of it all!

5 Responses to “To cheer or not to cheer”

  1. paige November 7, 2008 at 12:03 pm #

    when K missed cubs for soccer I felt so bad for you b/c I remembered he was on a winning team! We did not have that problem. I’m the loud parent too. the louder you are, the righter you are.

  2. paige November 7, 2008 at 12:04 pm #

    does this count as a VT visit? The message this month is about gender. Wanna hear it?

  3. Anonymous November 7, 2008 at 8:59 pm #

    HA ha ha ha ha! I’m imagining you and me and an Ensign article about gender. Now that would be fun. I just want to know, how did two loud girls like you and me stay so quiet?

    Yes, this counts – for sure. Wait a minute – I think you have to bring me chocolate. Yes, chocolate makes it official. If I were a VT (!) I would bring chocolate.

  4. Julie M November 8, 2008 at 12:52 am #

    “Gooooo Kieran!” Can you hear me cheering all the way from Utah? Now that’s loud.

    I like your new template!

  5. barefootbhakti November 10, 2008 at 11:06 pm #

    OK, we played two championship games out of the four – the game went into two overtimes before we finally lost on Penalty Kicks.

    You should have seen the kids faces. Being undefeated, they had no experience with losing this season. It was kind of sad to watch, but I’m glad they learned this lesson at least once!

    Ten minutes after the loss, on the way home, Kieran said “Ya know, it’s OK to lose sometimes. You can’t win all the time!”

    We talked about how happy the other team was that they won and how we can be happy for them. He half-heartedly agreed and I was just thrilled somebody brought donuts for the kids to soften the blow!

Leave a Reply

