Out of the mouth of babes

10 Jan

This morning while getting dressed with Drew hovering:

Drew: Mom, what are those called again?

Me: These? (pointing to my chest)

Drew: Yep

Me: Breasts (I’ve always hated that word, but I’m adimant about teaching the kids accurate terminology)

Drew: I’m going to have those big breasts when I grow up.

Me: Yep, when you grow up. (feeling very flattered)

-I’m done getting dressed, I walk into her room, and bend over to get her clothes out of the bottom dresser drawer.-

Drew (excited!): And a big bottom too!

Me: Yes! Only if you’re lucky…. (I’m a good faker – how’s that for building good self-body image/regaining humility?)

9 Responses to “Out of the mouth of babes”

  1. Otto Mann January 10, 2009 at 8:42 am #

    hahahaha, I randomly came across your blog and I’m happy I did so.

    It made me laugh.

    You’ve started my weekend off with a smile. Thank you for the gift.

    🙂

  2. aimeewrites January 10, 2009 at 8:52 am #

    Ha-ha!!!

    I guess I’m rreeeeeeeaaaaally lucky, then!

    Thanks for the laugh. And good for you. I heard so many comments about the size of my hips growing up, I’d have a complex about them if I was a size 2.

  3. greenfrog January 10, 2009 at 10:36 am #

    I’m guessing that the title is referring to what Drew said, rather than what you were discussing, right? 😉

  4. barefootbhakti January 11, 2009 at 6:22 am #

    greenfrog – I’m not THAT hollistic! She is four after all.

  5. Emily January 13, 2009 at 4:43 am #

    I had a similar experience with Alice, she decided that she wanted big bubbas, but not like mine…mine, apparently, are on the small side.

  6. Jody Weltz January 13, 2009 at 11:08 am #

    Oh my gosh this is priceless. I have a similar one – when we first had Courtney in our home before the adoption we were in a restroom together. When I went to sit down on the “throne” she exclaimed, “Wow, that’s a BIG butt!!!” I wasn’t so graceful and tactful in my response, I’m afraid. I would do well to glean some finese from you, my friend. Thanks for sharing.

  7. kelly January 15, 2009 at 5:40 am #

    Hilarious! Love the stuff that kids come up with…

  8. Julie M. January 17, 2009 at 2:32 am #

    Drew is wise beyond her years. I didn’t know I wanted big breasts until I had two kids and realized that there was nuttin left of me.

  9. I Can See Now January 17, 2009 at 11:24 am #

    LOL!!!! I also have a similar story. When I was a little girl my mother called me Little Buns, so one day I called her Big Buns (she was bigger than me after all). I just couldn’t understand why she declined her new nickname. So funny! I love your responses to Drew. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

