on courage

16 Feb

As it turns out, it’s extremely easy to find something brave to do every day. I’m very surprised by the things I am actually scared of that I had no idea I was scared of. It’s actually much easier (I think) to muster up the courage to get over my fear of heights and go repelling or hang-gliding, than it would be to consistently face the little moments of fear I’m discovering every day – to be consistently brave around every corner. That pile of papers that needs to be filed? Scared of it. Emptying the car every time I get out of it? Scared of it. Calling the dermatologist to follow up on our bill? Scared of it. Cleaning out the garage? Yep, scared of it.

I never really paid attention before, but there’s an element of fear in everything I have aversion to. Those things I just figure I”ll do later are actually opportunities to embrace my inner warrior. By the end of the year, I’m sure that life is going to look and feel a lot different.

3 Responses to “on courage”

  1. karrie harrison February 16, 2009 at 12:26 pm #

    Hi Laurie – So good to see you! Your Brandon is such a big guy now – and a cutie pie! (I recognize that beach from many summers ago – you and me carrying babys, protecting them from the windy beach, walking miles to the car and a very steep hill to climb – reality is probably different, but I recall it being a little stressful for me and my nursing baby. One of those days where I really wanted to enjoy it, but was “overwhelmed” by juggling too much for such an outing) I love what you said abt teenage boys. You are a thoughtful blogger. I like it. We’ll have to share ideas when Drew is leading you into the world of teenage girls.

    I had no idea we were on Facebook. I’m just getting warmed up in this world of blogs. Glad you found us!

  2. Julie M. February 17, 2009 at 11:24 am #

    I never thought of it that way before. Lately it seems that I’m afraid of just about everything. Either that or lazy. I’m thinking I’ll go with the fear factor. Now I just need to muster up some courage and dig in and just do it. I completely managed to avoid getting the kids rolling with their science projects. They are due in 3 days. A little bit of procrastination left over from my college days.

  3. silvershdws February 27, 2009 at 4:12 am #

    I think this could be the subject for a whole book! This was an awareness-bringing post for me… I’d love to hear more about your year of courage 🙂

Leave a Reply

