Hot Topic

2 Mar

my long, lost friend. i love you.

i love the dripping off the elbows
in a stream of sweet release.

i love how i wipe you off and push you away
and you forgive me, staying with me anyway
as if your source were infinite.

i love that you aren’t afraid to go deep –
root out all of my shit and expel it
with the joy of a job well done.

i love how friendly you are with gravity.
earthy and clingy.
forming beautiful lakes, streams and pools
on my Manduka.

i love how you dissipate, evaporate and condensate.
making the air thick for the sound of aum,
clinging and sticking long after the flow has stopped.
like a reminder of all that is good.

drip on my friend. drip on.

3 Responses to “Hot Topic”

  1. Julie C. March 2, 2009 at 9:14 am #

    Awesome! Thanks for joining me today for all that is sweaty and beloved, I have missed you!

  2. Paige March 2, 2009 at 10:57 am #

    and here I thought you were going to write about that super cool store in the mall- Hot Topic. You know, with the legwarmers and minidresses and Poison shirts! I hate sweating. It makes me cold afterward.

  3. barefootbhakti March 2, 2009 at 12:25 pm #

    Julie – I’ve missed you too! And now that you’re staying in Cali we’ll have many more sacred SF yoga adventures. Nothing says church to me like a room full of beautiful, half-naked gay men.

    Paige – Ha – I’m pretty ignorant about mall shopping. My kids and I only go about once a year. At Christmas, to see Santa if we’re not afraid of him this year and to grab some See’s, and usually once to go to Sears and have the broken vacuum fixed. It dies about once a year! I’ll have to have you pick me up some legwarmers and a Poison shirt. I would wear the Poison shirt, but I can’t pull off the minidress, even after all of that yoga and sweat.

Leave a Reply

