Hope

30 Apr

Have you heard this too? Every speaker I hear or book I read lately on the subject of spirituality, continually proclaims that we are on the cusp of a spiritual revolution of sorts. The beginning of a new way of living and a shift in global consciousness.I definitely feel it, but to be honest – I’m a yogi. I practice yoga all day and am surrounded with a pretty cool and enlightened community of practitioners. When I look at the fundamentalist movement that’s gaining hold and the polarization of politics, I have to be skeptical and wonder if it’s just my world, or if these grand sweeping statements might have some truth in them.

Then…

I just returned from the gas station where I witnessed yoga in action. A big burley guy was crouching down to repair something on the base of the gas pump. He grabbed his low back and looked like he was in pain. He then peaked over each shoulder (not well enough, apparrently, because he didn’t see me) and lifted up into a beautiful down-ward facing dog. He then moved into cat and cow, back to adho-mukha, and returned to his repair job. I mean, come on! He didn’t LOOK like a yogi, and this is Danville we’re talking about here. But – that was a killer down-ward facing dog and this dude definitely knew what he was doing.

That’s what I call hope.

2 Responses to “Hope”

  1. silvershdws May 1, 2009 at 3:18 am #

    Most awesome anecdote ever.

    The last thing I expected you to say was that the guy did yoga! I was waiting for a random active of kindness type of scenario! Then the burly guy you’ve given me to imagine busts out downward dog! LOVE IT.

    Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Jody Weltz May 1, 2009 at 11:50 am #

    I love it! Of course, I expected butt cleavage but that would just be my sick mind. Wow, the world is shifting and I’m grateful to be on board!

Leave a Reply

