Bedtime Mantras

7 May

Dan and I try to train our kids well. They are not allowed in our bed unless the sun is up! Snuggling in the morning is great, but I do not do little feet in my face in the middle of the night. We have worked hard to train the kids to go to sleep on their own, to be confident and capable of enjoying their own beds. And, it works – about 90% of the time.

We’re in that other 10% right now. The little ones share a room and it’s proven to be a challenge. Bedtime goes on far too long and Dan and I are both so tired by the end of the night it’s hard to put on a brave face and tackle it head on. A while back, I decided I needed more ritual, and more routine in my sadhana, so when it’s my turn to do bedtime, I sit by Drew’s bed and sing her sanskrit chants. She loves them and hums herself to sleep. I stay patient and calm, get my mantra sadhana in, and even Kieran enjoys it.

Tonight, I asked Drew what song she wanted. She said, “The HEY song.” “What song?”, I asked. “The HEY song.” This went on and on until she said, “You know, Tryambakam PAJAMA-HEY…..”

So, the Maha Mrityunjaya Mantra will forever be known in our house as the Tryambakam, Pajama-HEY song.

Here are the words:

Om tryambakam yajamahe sugandhim pusti vardhanam
Urvarukamiva bandhanan mrtyor mukshiya mamritat

I found this excellent blog post over on 9dozen that translates and illuminates the mantra beautifully.

Now, closing in behind Tryamakam pajama-hey as her second-favorite song is: Book of Mormon Stories. Talk about culturally diverse! I don’t know if the kids are doomed to be confused, or enlightened, but I can’t wait to hear Drew’s version of Book of Mormon Stories in Sanskrit. Heaven help us…

One Response to “Bedtime Mantras”

  1. greenfrog May 8, 2009 at 12:29 pm #

    Funny. I learned that mantra orally — from Manorama in person originally, and later from a recording she made. Until today, I don’t think I’d ever seen it in print. I had to pronounce the syllables to myself before I recognized it.

    It’s got a wonderful calming effect.

Leave a Reply

