Guruji

20 May

Pattabhi Jois, Guruji – left his body today at 94 years old.

“Yoga is possible for anybody who really wants it. Yoga is universal.
Yoga is not mine. But don’t approach yoga with a business mind –
looking for worldly gain. If you want to be near God, turn your mind
toward God, and practice yoga. As the scriptures say “without yoga
practice, how can knowledge give you moksha [liberation]?”

Sri K. Pattabhi Jois

I’m moved as I think about his life, and his influence on yoga in the west. Clayton was my first teacher, and he studied Astanga with Pattabhi and while I don’t adhere to the strict structure of the Astanga method, I feel as if it is my yoga lineage. Flow yoga, my beloved practice – stems directly from this intelligent sequence of meditative breathwork and asana, focus, and awareness. So I’m sitting here overwhelmed with gratitude for this man many respectfully call “Guruji”

Here is a rare instance of Mr. Jois speaking English:


“If we practice the science of yoga, which is useful to the entire human community and which yields happiness both here and hereafter – if we practice it without fail, we will then attain physical, mental, and spiritual happiness, and our minds will flood towards the Self.”

Sri K. Pattabhi Jois

And here is Clayton, quite the Ashtangi and my first astanga teacher, speaking about this practice….

The Beautiful David Swenson demonstrating the grace of Pattabhi’s beloved Astanga series …

I’m mindful today of Pattabhi’s most famous quote:

“Do your practice and all is coming.”

2 Responses to “Guruji”

  1. Julie C. May 20, 2009 at 9:02 am #

    What a life you have lead when people from a vastly different culture, living half a world away revere you and are moved by your death. I especially love hearing Clayton put into words my attachment to Ashtanga when he likens it to a mirror. When the practice remains the same you have no choice but to look within yourself to identify what has changed in each day. Much like you, I will always that Ashtanga is one of the most important part of my yoga lineage.

  2. sheanight June 21, 2009 at 1:11 am #

    I had an opportunity to watch that particular video of Mr. Jois once before, he was/is an incredibly peaceful man.

    btw, a very informative blog you have here.

Leave a Reply

