End of an era

27 Aug

Did you see this today?

Yep. The heavens parted today, and the angels sang a rousing version of the Hallelujah chorus. It was our first full day of Kindergarten, for the third and last time.

Somehow, I have managed to survive 14 years of staying primarily at home with small children. They’ve all survived infancy, toddler-hood, and pre-school without broken bones, swallowing hazardous materials or getting kidnapped. To top it off,  I have not maimed or hurt any of them out of frustration. My brain did not melt into the abyss as I feared it would, and I can still speak to adults with out regressing into baby talk. It may seem like a small feat, but I am celebrating today. It really is the end of an era.

I adore little children and babies, I really do. Living with them though, is a whole other story. I bow to childcare professionals, teachers and coaches and honor their patience, structure and ability to love the unlovable moments in life. Throughout the years of parenting, I’ve learned to enjoy the difficult moments. To slow down, chill out, and embrace what is happening NOW. It took me 3 kids, but I did learn to look into their little faces during the difficult moments and see some beauty past all of that whining. I learned to laugh more and ignore a lot.

And NOW, finally – I have the opportunity to embrace this moment. This moment – the  one where I send off my happy little 5-year old, off into the big world by herself. Every day. Six and a half hours a day! I’m embracing the fact that for the first time in 14 years, I will be able to complete a thought in my head without interruption from little people. I will be able to keep my eyes on my work instead of one eyeball on that little one who’s sneaking into the kitchen cupboard, or climbing the bookcase. I can grocery shop without managing the begging, and can read labels instead of chasing and negotiating and worrying about whether or not the kids are wandering away into the arms of the friendly neighborhood child molester. Ahhh…. thank you Mrs. Legaluche, Ms. Donovan, and the many High School teachers out there for taking over that responsibility for me.

Sometimes impermanence isn’t so difficult.

2 Responses to “End of an era”

  1. Paige August 27, 2009 at 6:00 am #

    Laurie this is awesome. I like how it sounds like you are getting TOTAL freedom instead of just a taste everyday! With our kids gone every day it gives us time to miss them!

  2. Marcella McCormick October 6, 2009 at 9:04 pm #

    thank you for this. When it comes to motherhood, we are kindred spirits! And if love is understanding, then you are sending out love. Not only do I understand your experience, but it makes me feel understood as well.

Leave a Reply

