Check it out.

8 Feb

After a much-too-long hiatus, my friend, John Dehlin restarted his fascinating podcast series: Mormon Stories.  John’s series is the most honest, refreshing and loving look into the rich and fascinating stories that surround Mormonism. He includes the faithful, the disaffected, the intellectuals, and historians (some famous, some not so famous) – there’s literally something for everyone here. If you’ve ever sat in Gospel Doctrine class, scratching you head and saying, “what about….?”, and knew it wasn’t ok to ask, then this is for you.

If you are Mormon and someone you know and love has left the church, his presentation, “Why people leave the LDS church” is an important and thoughtful piece of work.

Yep, it’s on i-tunes.

6 Responses to “Check it out.”

  1. Campeche April 10, 2010 at 1:29 am #

    Hi Laurie, I heard your interview with John Dehlin on the rough draft he sent out and wanted to let you know how much I appreciate your insights and comments on the podcast. I googled your name and found this blog and just wanted to send appreciative energy your way : )

  2. barefootbhakti April 10, 2010 at 8:25 am #

    Hi there! I think we know each other from NOM and facebook?

    Thanks… so strange to be interviewed and try to be coherent and thoughtful, but what a great group of people that John, Lee and Heather are. In the future, John has given me the opportunity to interview my friend Carol Lynn Pearson which should be an amazing series of interviews – so that’s coming soon!

    • campeche April 10, 2010 at 9:23 am #

      You sounded great on John’s interview and so much of what you said rang true to what I am learning…. I just finished reading the Tao de Ching after many attempts and I finally understand the first line ” The Tao which can be spoken is not the eternal Tao” . Your story of the Buddhists pointing at the moon helped me to understand this truth. I’ve dabbled in yoga in the past and love it but I just don’t have time for it anymore. One of my all time favorite podcasts was the one with Seane Corn on Speaking of Faith http://speakingoffaith.publicradio.org/programs/2009/yoga/. I had never even heard of her until I listened to the podcast and was enamoured with her voice and message. Then when I looked her up online, I was amazed…. My spiritual practice is sort of my own form of walking meditation – I especially love doing it really, really early in the morning before my early morning seminary class.
      I’m so glad John has set up an interview with Carol Lynn Pearson. Her books inspire me and I can’t wait to hear about how she has stayed active and made her peace with the Mormon Church…
      I wonder if she has any insight as to the direction in which the church is going when it comes to gays and the church…. Maybe she can suggest ways that we members can persuade our leaders to take a more inclusive and compassionate position on this….. Good luck in your interview with her!

  3. barefootbhakti April 10, 2010 at 11:22 am #

    I tried to read the Tao as a TBM and got SO confused! My mind just felt like it would explode if I really pushed to hard back then.

    I’ll have to listen – I love speaking of faith, and I’ve had the chance to study with Sean Corne. She’s a great story teller.

    CLP lives by me and I’m proud to call her my friend. She’s behind this: http://www.propositionhealing.com – it should be a fabulous and inspiring interview with her. I can’t wait!

  4. campeche April 10, 2010 at 11:02 pm #

    Thanks for sharing the link. Your interview with CLP will be awesome and I’m sure it will bring the listenership of Mormon Stories to a new level.
    I am interested to hear more of your voice… how you weave together mormonism and eastern teachings and how does this play out in your church life… for example, do you have a calling? a temple recommend? if not, does it bother you? These are very personal questions that you might not want to answer publicly but I am just curious.
    As for me, I teach seminary but I try to bring in concepts from other religions. For example, when we were studying Isaiah 29 about the Marvelous Work and Wonder that would come forth, I told my students that the Mormons believe this to be a prophecy about the BOM but the Moslems believe it to be prophecies about Muhammed and the Quran. I’m always mindful that I am teaching an LDS seminary class but……..
    I just found you on facebook and requested your friendship… your yoga pictures make me really want to get back into it. : )

  5. kmillecam April 21, 2010 at 4:31 am #

    Love Mormon Stories, and I am so excited to listen to these podcasts again at the gym. I am looking forward to your episode 🙂 I haven’t heard it yet.

Leave a Reply

